Christmas thoughts at 2:30am

It’s 2:30am Christmas day. I woke up about an hour ago to the whiny cry of my 19 month old. Not whiny in a bad way, but a sleepy whiny that let me know that he was probably wet. I got up and went to check on him. He was a poopy mess. I think he has a touch of the “bug” that’s been going around. But he’s now back in bed sleeping. Clean and filled up with a refreshing drink of gatorade, to stay hydrated. I did some laundry and disinfected some things and now I’m taking probably the one chance I have today to blog a little bit.
Christmas has been so fun this year with a toddler. He has learned how to open presents. He has been so sweet when I remind him to say “thank you” to the giver. I think this is so important. Many people may think he’s too young to get on about this but I know that he’s not. Especially after seeing him do the sign for “thankyou” – it looks almost like he’s blowing them a kiss. Sometimes though, he says it pretty clearly too. It warms my heart. I am trying to instill gratitude and thankfulness in him. There are so many unkind and ungrateful people in this world, that it matters to teach him right.
Merry Christmas everyone! And remember to be thankful for the gifts you receive. I am thankful. But most of all, I’m thankful for Jesus Christ, as He is the first Christmas gift ever given. He came as a baby, lived a perfect life, and died on a cross to pay the debt for our sins. Thank you Jesus, I love you!

Here’s a song my family used to sing when I was growing up:

He’s the reason for the season, for the trimmings and the tree
May this Christmas time remind you that he came to give it all
He’s the reason for the season, He’s the purpose of it all
May this Christmas time remind you that He came…to set men free!

Please leave a thought...

