Quotes of the Founders

Lately, I’ve been educating myself on the Constitution of the United States.  I am a firm believer in continuing to educate oneself throughout life.  Things I have researched in the past and which continue to be of interest to me are: gardening, running, writing, science and many, many more topics.  I kindof get “on” a topic, learn about it and then proceed to something else that interests me.  I often go back and refresh my mind on things I have learned and learn more about them.  I am building up my knowledge one block at a time.  I have been accused of being a “jack of all trades, master of none”, but I do not look at it this way at all.
It’s obvious to anyone who has read this blog lately that politics is a passion of mine.  I really never wrote much about it though.  I have to say a big thanks to Grumpa Joe at Grumpa Joe’s Place, because after reading his blog for a while, I began to think, “why can’t I share my thoughts and feelings on this topic as well?”.  And so, I began to.
Ok, I know my thoughts are wandering a little but, all this to share something I came across when reading pocket constitution I picked up.  In the beginning of the booklet, there are lots of quotes from our founding fathers and some of them are fascinating, seeing where we’re at today!

“Only a virtuous people are capable of freedom.  As nations become corrupt and vicious, they have more need of masters.”  Benjamin Franklin

“Our constitution was made only for a moral and religious people.  It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.”          Thomas Jefferson

“All tyranny needs to gain a foothold is for people of good conscience to remain silent.”   Thomas Jefferson

I don’t really need to expand on these quotes as they sum it up nicely on their own.  I am very passionate about our country and the principles of freedom we are founded upon.  My dream, and hopefully a goal at some point, is to teach small classes about what I’m learning: “The Basics of our Constitution”.  I’m not talking about at a school or anything, but at a grass roots level.  We as a people have got to get educated in this regard.  Our founders knew this and had a LOT to say about the importance of education. For example:

“A well-instructed people alone can be a permanently free people”  James Madison

Lastly and VERY importantly:

” A primary object…should be the education of our youth in the science of government.  In a republic, what species of knowledge can be equally important?  And what duty more pressing…than communicating it to those who are to be the future guardians of the liberties of the country?”                           George Washington

This is what I am…a future guardian of the liberties of this country.  And I do not take it lightly!  How about you?

3 thoughts on “Quotes of the Founders

  1. As I read this blog, I realized why I was so upset that the library tax was voted down. Although it would have cost the families of the county as little as $40 a year, our county voted against opening a library in the southern part of the county. Now, I understand that the location of the new library would only appeal to certain residents who live on the outer limits of the county… the majority of our population would not be interested in driving down to Grants Lick for a book pick-up! But the library access from that end of the county is sorely lacking, and it’s a great resource for our schools and continued education to have a library within ten minutes of every person. So it is disheartening that the general population voted against the library tax. Even if it’s not going to benefit my life, I want to enhance the lives of others. And what better enhancement than through the availability of books?

    • I agree about the library…benefiting so many people. It even would’ve been a great access point for the county below (yayy me!). So, hopefully they will find another fiscally responsible way to fund it!

Please leave a thought...

