Baby to Toddler: Changes

My little boy is now almost 18 months old. A year and a half already! The time has flown by and even though I try to be an intentional parent who is very present and involved it still has slipped by amazingly fast.  Something that I have struggled with in the past couple of months is the big changes that have taken place in “Transformation – Baby to Toddler”.  I’m loving that he is growing and doing all the things he should but I just feel a little behind, like it snuck up on me.  What really made the difference was walking.  When he became an accomplished walker, along with that came this big sense of independence and wanting to do so much more for himself.

Overall, I have adjusted and love to see how he is learning and growing every minute.  However, I read an article today that you can read here at Chronicles of a Babywise Mom and it was really enlightening for me.  I feel the pressure of having so much to teach to my baby and this article helped me to keep it somewhat in perspective.  I have built a really strong foundation with him and I feel like maybe lately, I’ve been trying to work on new things that have become problematic and haven’t been working on the things we already learned (signing, individual playtime, sleep habits).  This article states the importance of focusing on not losing ground during this “pre-toddler” stage rather than focusing on gaining new ground.  By doing this you actually gain ground.  I’m not going to explain in detail any more about the concept b/c she explains it great in the link above.  But it is so true! I want to go into toddlerhood in the same position I entered and not less.

So, a couple of the things I’m going to implement back into our routine are structured playtime and signing.  We have slacked off in both of these areas and I think both are really important.  With the signing, I have not been as consistent in having him sign for what he wants and he has developed a habit of whining or sometimes reaching and screeching for what he wants.  Not good!  We are going to have an interesting week implementing some of these things back in but it is so important for baby B to learn that he has to ask for things the right way and also to be able to have structured playtime (as opposed to roaming around getting into whatever he wants at times).

Well, that is just what is on my heart at the moment.  I will let you know how it goes!  Anyone want to share, please feel free.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Baby to Toddler: Changes

  1. Just read the article – this is great stuff! I am excited for your goals to keep the ground you have gained because you have done so great up to this point. Parenting is constantly adjusting and never stays the same… changes tend to creep up on you and before you know it you have to readjust again. Always a new challenge but like the article said, you’re getting stronger arms as a parent every day 🙂

  2. I will try to be a consistent though very, very fun and loving Mimi to him at all times!!!! (Bo – quit looking at me with those adorable big brown eyes that make me cave in!!!)

  3. Don’t forget nap time. Toddlers and Seniors need their naps. The toddler must have a very regimented nap time. If not, you will lose the battle to raise a well structured kid.

    • I heartily agree, Grumpa! He has been taking 2 naps per day up to now and is slowly weaning down to 1 nap which will be the case until he is 3 or 4. I read the book “On Becoming Babywise” before I had him and have had so much success in raising a happy little boy in part because he has a routine. Plain and simple! Thanks for your comment and for visiting!

Please leave a thought...

