The Adventure Club

About three years ago, my sister and I formed this little club.  “The Adventure Club”.  The idea was that we would get out and do some fun activities that day to day life doesn’t really allow.  I think we went kayaking one time.  I can’t really remember why but it just never got off the ground.  I am a pretty active person and I like to run, exercise, and am starting to get into bike riding and kayaking a little.  Me and my sis have actually done a couple of races this year (a 5k and a Warrior Dash).  They were really fun and we want to do some more.  So, we decided to bring the “Adventure Club” back from the dead and give it one more shot. 

I figure that if we are already running and are planning on doing some bike runs and paddling then why not put a name to it and make it a little bit more official?  Perhaps it will help us to be a bit more dedicated.  I have already made a mental list of the activities that I want to undertake this summer and fall and they are: riding horses, kayaking, hiking to some special places in our area, indoor rock climbing, and running a 5k in september.

I think these are very “doable” and I am excited to have our little club again.  This past weekend was the kickoff and we went kayaking on the river.  It was pretty tame but that’s ok.  The point is getting out there and not just being one of those people who say “yeah lets go do ____ (insert activity) sometime” and then never follows through.  That is a pet peeve of mine and I decided some years ago that I didn’t want to be like that. Since that time I have tried to be a someone who follows through with what I say….

Anyhow, Adventure…Here we come!!!!

4 thoughts on “The Adventure Club

  1. What an awesome idea!! I love running and my fiance and I really want to get kayaks. It really is so disappointing when dreams just stay dreams. It helps when there’s someone else to help you get them off the ground! Maybe I’ll ask my man if he wants to start an adventure club. 🙂

  2. Ev- its such an honor of mine to be in the “adventure club” with you. By the way – I like your bucket list – I know I sound crazy but a long term bucket list goal of mine is a triathalon or a mini version. I don’t wanna be a kentuckian and just talk about it though… So maybe I shouldn’t have mentioned it… Then again it is a very doable dream! Just takes a lot of working up to. Paddling williamstown and our 5k are gonna be a blast girl. Thanks for being a great friend and adventure buddy!

    • I think allen impacted us both didn’t he when he said people here just talk and don’t “do”….I’ll never forget that. And no, you’re not crazy..i would love to work up to a triatholon sprint!

  3. Pingback: Moving On | Day by Day

Please leave a thought...

