Solace in the Storm

I’ve never been scared of storms…

About two years ago, I was eight months pregnant and had just left work to go home.  About 7 minutes after I left work, my mom called me to warn me of a pop up storm that was going directly across my path.  She said it was really bad and that the news said there was tornadic activity in the storm.  I told her that it didn’t look like it was going to storm at all and I was only about 10 minutes from home.  I assured her that I thought I could make it home and it would be ok.  I stayed on the phone with her for a minute or two longer and in that amount of time (I kid you not!) the atmosphere completely changed. It began to get really windy and dark.  I hit rain. Hard rain.  So hard I could barely see.  I ended up turning around in the road, thinking maybe I could get back down the hill and pull off.  Somehow, by the grace of God, I made it back down the road.  I should’ve pulled off somewhere but, I just kept driving at a crawl thinking “just a little further and I’ll find a safe place”.  I was praying and crying almost the whole time.  Never had I felt so scared.  Never had I felt as out of control of things as I was.  Eventually I made it back to work.  By that time, the storm was just about done anyhow but I was shaken up and stayed there for a while.

Ever since then, I’m ashamed to say I’ve been a little scared of storms.  The area I live in was hit hard with tornadoes last year and that didn’t help.  But I guess it’s just been on my mind lately because we’ve had a couple “doozies” in the past two weeks.  Nothing too bad looking back, but scary for me at the time (crazy winds, some broken trees, hard rains).  That’s the thing about storms though, you don’t always know what one holds.

I found this verse today.  Psalm 56:3-4 What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.  In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

These are amazing verses to me.  Even in the middle of a storm, I can and I have had comfort because I know that even if I am swallowed alive, that God is still with me and I am his child.  What a comfort!

(Picture from www.fanpop.com)

One thought on “Solace in the Storm

  1. Storms can be so incredibly scary!!! I know what you mean, and knowing God is there has always helped me too. It’s funny, because I actually have some fond memories of being scared speechless in our rickety basement, holding onto my Bible for dear life, thumbing through the pages, and getting to know God better!

Please leave a thought...

